of the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation Party. The sessional indemnity for each Member of the Legislative Assembly is \$2,000 plus an expense allowance of \$1,000.

22.—Legislatures and Premiers of Alberta, 1935-52, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1952

Legislatures, 1935-521

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1935 Mar. 21, 1940 Aug. 8, 1944 Aug. 17, 1948	8th General Assembly. 9th General Assembly. 10th General Assembly. 11th General Assembly.	4 5	Feb. 6, 1936 Feb. 20, 1941 Feb. 22, 1945 Feb. 17, 1949	Feb. 16, 1940 July 7, 1944 July 16, 1948

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1935-52 were: 6th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. R. G. Reid; 7th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 3, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. Wm. Aberhart; 8th Ministry, sworn in May 31, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. Ernest C. Manning.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1952.

## Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Aug. 17, 1948: 51 Social Credit, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 2 Liberals, 1 Independent Social Credit, 1 Independent.)

	headnot	

ОЩе	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and Provincial Treasurer. Attorney General	Hon. Ernest C. Manning. Hon. Lucien Maynard. Hon. Ivan Casey.  Hon. Nathan E. Tanner. Hon. D. B. MacMillan.  Hon. W. W. Cross. Hon. Alfred J. Hooke.  Hon. C. E. Gerhart. Hon. D. A. Ure. Hon. J. L. Robinson. Hon. G. E. Taylor.	May 12, 1936 Feb. 21, 1948 Jan. 5, 1937 Dec. 3, 1940 Sept. 3, 1935 Apr. 20, 1945 June 1, 1943 May 8, 1948 May 8, 1948	May 31, 1943 June 1, 1943 Feb. 21, 1948 Jan. 5, 1937 May 8, 1948 Sept. 3, 1935 Apr. 20, 1945 May 8, 1948 May 8, 1948 May 8, 1948 May 8, 1948 Dec. 27, 1951 May 1, 1951

## Subsection 10.—British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

Colonel the Honourable Clarence Wallace, the present Lieutenant-Governor of the Province, was commissioned to office Oct. 1, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the Year Book 1951, p. 98.

The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 48 members.

Members of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly each receive sessional allowances of \$2,000 and \$1,000 for expenses. In addition, the Premier receives a salary of \$9,000 and each Member of the Executive Council \$7,500. The Leader of the Opposition has a special allowance of \$2,000 and the Speaker and Deputy Speaker receive allowances of \$1,800 and \$500, respectively.